When attempting to use the web address listed in the “Device Connection/Control Panel/Remote Access” section of my ugreen DXP4800 Plus, from another computer, I get the sign in page, however, when using what I thought was my User ID and Password, I get the message, Incorrect user id or password. I must have fat fingered the information when originally entered. Is there a way to recover the password . . . pretty sure I didn’t fat finger the user ID.
If not, is a physical reset an option and what concerns should I have if I go this route.
Thanks for the quick reply. I do have several questions. If I follow the directions will all my data on the Raid 5 remain intact. Secondly, is this process different that using the reset button on the rear of the NAS? Chat GPT prompted me to go the route of resetting by the button on the back of the unit and it said it wouldn’t mess with the data on the Raid 5. I am very concerned because I don’t have the space to back up all the data before proceeding. If there is any possibility of losing some/all of the stored data, I will not move forward with either procedure. I can still access the NAS on my desktop , phone & iPad. Thanks again for taking time to reply to my inquiry. I am very new to the NAS scene.
First of all, keep in mind that this is an unofficial forum, if you want to get actual support, you better check the official forum.
From what I can tell, that should just reset your password, nothing else.
That said, it seems like those instructions are for the models with eMMC, not an SSD as in your case, since they’re pointing to mmcblk something, which you won’t have.
This seems to be the instructions for using the reset button. Again, nothing should be wiped off the drives, as pointed out at the end.
To restore the Ugreen NAS to factory settings, follow these steps:
With the device powered on, use a pin to press and hold the “RESET” button on the device for 5 seconds until you hear a short beep, then release the button.
The device will automatically restart and restore to factory settings. During the reset process, the device will not reboot. Once the reset is complete, the network indicator light will turn solid white, indicating that you can use the device normally.
After a successful reset, please log in with the previously created administrator account and password.
If you have forgotten the administrator account and password, please use the “admin” account with a blank password to log in (this account is only for password reset). After logging in, follow the wizard to complete the administrator password setup. Please note: The reset operation will not affect the data stored on your hard drive, but system configurations and network settings will be reset.